Posted by: serenaxoxo | August 16, 2008

찜질방 aka korean sauna

So my last night in Korea was interesting. After spending the day at the aquarium I ahd to figure out what I was going to do for the night. Our check out date was the 8th and my flight didn’t leave until the 9th. Most of my friends had left that day but luckily for me I still had a few friends in the city. I called from my friend Andrew and met up with him and Marcos. They told me they were going to be sleeping at a 찜질방 or jim ji bang.

It’s 9 dollars to stay in one and it’s not too bad. You come in, pay and they give you an outfit to wear. Shorts and a tshirt. You put ur shoes in a locker and then take the key. They have a few floors. There is a guys floor and a girls floor, where they have showers and baths and pretty much everything you need to freshen up. Then once you’ve done that you go onto the unisex floors. It’s pretty much a stone floor with a big TV. People just sit and chill here. They had two different unisex floors. One which was louder and another one which was quieter. My friends and I chose to go onto the quieter floor. I grabbed two blankets and pretty much just made myself a little spot on the floor. There’s no system you just put ur blanket where ever the hell you feel like it. I was dead tired so I went to sleep before my friends showed up.

I woke up about 3am kind of cold, so I went to get a blanket. Upon waking up though I find that some guy had set up his blanket right next to mine! Like he might as well been sleeping on my blanket it was so close. I looked closer to see if it was my friend, but alas it was not. I was sooo tired tho so I just let it be, walked over all the sleeping people grabbed a blanket and went back to sleep. I just didn’t turn in that direction the whole night. I woke up and he was gone. Weirddd.

Responses

  1. You’re really pretty! Nice blog! ronhh1@yahoo.com
    I’m in Suwon, South Korea


Leave a Reply

Categories

